Tony Conigliaro Award PDF Print E-mail

The Tony Conigliaro Award is presented by the Boston Chapter of Baseball Writers Association of America in cooperation with the Boston Red Sox Baseball Club to Major Leaguers who have overcome adversity through spirit, determination and courage — trademarks of Lynn, Mass., native and Boston Red Sox hero Tony Conigliaro. The award was established in 1990 by the Boston Red Sox in honor of Congliaro and his legendary comeback from the beaning that nearly ended his career in August 1967.

Tony Conigliaro Award Winners
1990 Jim Eisenreich, Kansas City Royals
1991 Dickie Thon, Philadelphia Phillies
1992 Jim Abbott, California Angels
1993 Bo Jackson, Kansas City Royals
1994 Mark Leiter, California Angels
1995 Scott Radinsky, Chicago White Sox
1996 Curtis Pride, Detroit Tigers
1997 Eric Davis, Baltimore Orioles
1998 Bret Saberhagen, Boston Red Sox
1999 Mike Lowell, Florida Marlins
2000 Kent Mercker, Anaheim Angels
Tony Saunders, Florida Marlins
2001 Jason Johnson, Baltimore Orioles
Graeme Lloyd, Montreal Expos
2002 Jose Rijo, Cincinnati Reds
2003 Jim Mercir, Oakland Athletics
2004 Dewon Brazelton, Tampa Bay Devil Rays
2005 Aaron Cook, Colorado Rockies
2006 Freddy Sanchez, Pittsburgh Pirates
2007 Jon Lester, Boston Red Sox
2008 Rocco Baldelli, Tampa Bay Rays
2009 Chris Carpenter, St. Louis Cardinals
2010 Joaquin Benoit, Tampa Bay Rays
2011 Tony Campana, Chicago Cubs
2012 R.A. Dickey, New York Mets
2013 John Lackey, Boston Red Sox